Pro Bono Award


2023 Recipient

Emily Conway
Mallory Lapka Scott & Selin PLLC

Description of Award

The Ingham County Bar Association will honor at least one individual with a Pro Bono Award at the ICBA Annual meeting in November. The LSSCM Pro Bono Award will be bestowed annually to a lawyer that has made significant contributions through Legal Services of South Central Michigan’s pro bono program. It is our hope that by calling attention to their contributions, many others will also be inspired to provide or continue providing support to low income individuals in need of legal aid.

Award Criteria

The following criteria will be used to determine who should receive the award:

  • Significant pro bono contribution is determined by considering any or all of the following for the prior calendar year: the number of pro bono hours provided, complexity of case(s) handled, volume of cases handled, significance of a project handled on behalf of LSSCM or its clients, and/or the level of engagement with LSSCM’s work.

Selection Process

LSSCM will form a committee to determine the award recipient. LSSCM partners with the Ingham County Bar Association (ICBA) board president, who appoints a representative from the ICBA board to serve on the selection committee.


Previous Award Recipients

2013 Amy H. Bailey
2014 Gordon W. VanWieren, Jr.
2015 Kimberly Lynn Savage
2016 Michael E. Cavanaugh
2017 Kristen L. Krol
2018 Barb Byrum
2019 Erica G. Terranova
2021 Lynn Osborne
2022 Lawrence P Schneider